MacKenzie and Pacey

Acoustic Music for the SoulWhile it is true that we live in a world of electronic noise (both musical and ambient), it would also be impossible to deny the power of the unadorned voice, acoustic guitar and harmony vocal.

Using these simple ingredients along with various percussion devices, Trudy MacKenzie and Shane Pacey have forged a refreshing new sound that is bright, soulful and highly rhythmic.

Avoiding the easy path of drum machines, midi files and backing tracks, Trudy and Shane generate all the music you hear from the stage (as they believe it should be).

The duo’s set list is drawn from a highly diverse range of artists from Bob Dylan, Joni Mitchell and Bonnie Raitt to more contemporary acts like Shawn Colvin and Jewell, all reinterpreted in a unique style.

Trudy and Shane are also in the process of finishing their first CD titled, “Monkey Business” which will consist of mostly original material they have written together.

SHANE PACEY …. brings a wealth of experience to the duo. For over 16 years he has fronted the legendary Bondi Cigars as lead vocalist, guitarist and songwriter. The band and Shane individually have received many awards and accolades ad were nominated for an ARIA in 2003.

His songs were featured on the popular television series, “Sea Change” and the Bondi Cigars have released 7 popular CDs since their inception. The band remains a popular and in-demand touring act.

TRUDY MACKENZIE ….. whose angelic voice is bound to astound people, spent her formative years singing in bands from Victoria to Western Australia. A career divergence found her working in the field of medicine, firstly as a paramedic and latterly in Chinese medicine.

In between these demanding occupations, she still found time to sing not only as a soliist, but in various duos, bands and the respected Brisbane Gospel Choir (an experience Trudy believes was a key element to her current vocal style). She brings an exuberant sense of fun to the duo and is a sparkling presence on stage.

Trudy MacKenzie and Shane Pacey are a duo who believe that music at its best can be a positive and healing force (not to mention a whole lot of fun ….) Acoustic Music for the Soul, in fact. 

Some of MacKenzie and Pacey Songs

  • Sunny Came Home – Shawn Colvin
  • Thing Called Love – Bonnie Raitt
  • Every Little Thing He Does Is Magic – Sting
  • Steal My Kisses – Ben Harper
  • Closer To Fine – Indigo Girls
  • Feelin Alright – Dave Mason
  • Dreams – Fleetwood Mac
  • Solid Air – John Martyn
  • May You Never – John Martyn
  • These Hands – Jewel
  • Going Back – Byrds
  • I Got A Man – Ray Charles
  • Time After Time – Cyndi Lauper
  • Love The One You’re With -Steve Stills
  • It’s All Over Now Baby Blue – Bob Dylan
  • Take Me To The River – Al Green
  • Son Of A Preacher Man – Dusty Springfield
  • Standing On Shakey Ground – Temptations
  • If You Gotta Go – Bob Dylan
  • Save Your Soul – Jewel

Original Songs 

  • Beautiful View
  • Farbenlied
  • I Love The Way
  • Melt
  • Mercy
  • Our Time
  • Precious Soul
  • Purple on Grey
  • Without End
  • Rainy Day Fun

Music and Entertainers

Jaybees Entertainment Gig Guide
Jaybees Entertainment